Full access is limited to those who have purchased Spirit of Truth, High School

Requested Access before? Click here to login before requesting again


Spirit of Truth, High School

Course V


1The Sacramental Economy

Jesus established His Church here on Earth to continue His mission of the salvation of all souls. The Church is a visible sign of the invisible Kingdom of God, inaugurated by Christ during His earthly life. The Church uses visible signs and symbols to make known the invisible truths of our salvation. Jesus gave us the Seven Sacraments as visible, material means of receiving the invisible grace of God. How beautiful it is that God鈥檚 grand design for His creation and for our salvation is made known to us still today through the work of Christ鈥檚 Church.

Jump to this unit →
2Sacraments of Initiation, Part 1: Baptism and Confirmation

Baptism is the Sacrament of regeneration through water in the Word. By this first of Sacraments, we are made members of Christ鈥檚 Church and cleansed of all sin, receiving a portion of the Holy Spirit in our lives. The Sacrament of Confirmation is often misunderstood, despite the rich history of the Sacrament that reaches back to Jesus and the Apostles and its deep roots in the Old Testament. Contrary to popular belief, it is not a graduation ceremony or the Catholic equivalent of a Jewish bar mitzvah. Rather, the Sacrament of Confirmation is an important step on the path of Christian initiation that completes, or confirms, the outpouring of the Holy Spirit received at Baptism and sends the person out to proclaim boldly the Good News.

Jump to this unit →
3Sacraments of Initiation, Part 2: The Eucharist

The Eucharist is the source and summit of our shared Catholic faith. St. Thomas Aquinas says the Eucharist is 鈥渢he consummation of the spiritual life, and the end of all the sacraments.鈥 The Angelic Doctor intended that the words 鈥渃onsummation鈥 and 鈥渆nd鈥 be understood in their most Catholic sense as the fulfillment of the teleological purpose鈥攖hat is, the thing to which all else points.

Jump to this unit →
4Sacraments of Healing: Penance and Reconciliation and Anointing of the Sick

We will all encounter the consequences of sin: the suffering and sickness that are a part of the human condition. And we will all face death. This Jesus knew and experienced Himself. In fact, Jesus closely identified with the sick and suffering not only during His own Passion but also during His public ministry, when He healed so many who were sick and infirm. Jesus sent His Apostles out two by two to heal the sick and forgive sins as a sign of the arrival of the Kingdom of God, prophesied from the Old Testament.

Jump to this unit →
5Sacraments at the Service of Communion: Holy Orders and Matrimony

The Sacraments at the service of Communion are those that Christ instituted for the service of God鈥檚 people and the entire human family. The first is the Sacrament of Holy Orders, by which the Church ordains men to serve as bishops, priests, or deacons. The second is Holy Matrimony, which calls a man and woman to the vocation of marriage and family life.

Jump to this unit →

Warning: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, no array or string given in /nas/content/live/devsiftsupport/wp-includes/class-wp-hook.php on line 310

Get Support for Your Classroom

Getting Started

Learn how to use Sophia Teachers curricula with our video guides

Join a Webinar

Join one of our monthly scheduled webinars to support your classroom

Schedule a Call

Get personalized support with one of our education support specialists

Event: Registration and login form

Enter Your Password